Robert Schirmer, Larry Fessenden, Clay Chapman McCleod

November 06, 2016
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Robert Schirmer’s novel Barrow’s Point won the 2015 Gival Press Novel Award, and was nominated by the press for the National Book Award and the 2017 PEN/ Robert W. Bingham Award for Debut Novel. His story collection Living with Strangers won the Bobst Award for Emerging Writers and was published by NYU Press. He’s won an O. Henry Award, a Pushcart Prize, and a fellowship from the Chesterfield Film Company’s Writers’ Film Project. He had a screenplay optioned by Amblin Entertainment and Warner Brothers, and his short stories have appeared in such magazines as Glimmer Train, Sewanee Review, New England Review, Epoch, Fiction, Literal Latte and The Best of Witness.

Restless Books and KGB celebrate with readings from and inspired by Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein—out from Restless in a new, illustrated edition with an introduction by Francine Prose. 

Larry Fessenden, winner of the 1997 Someone to Watch Spirit Award, and nominee for the 2010 Piaget Spirit Award for producing, is the writer, director and editor of the award-winning art-horror trilogy HABIT (Nominated for 2 Spirit Awards), WENDIGO (Winner Best Film 2001 Woodstock Film Festival) and NO TELLING. His film, THE LAST WINTER (Nominated for a 2007 Gotham Award for best ensemble cast), premiered at the 2006 Toronto Film Festival and was distributed through IFC. Fessenden directed SKIN AND BONES for NBC TV’s horror anthology FEAR ITSELF and the feature film BENEATH for Chiller films. He wrote the screenplay with Guillermo del Toro of ORPHANAGE, an English language remake of the successful Spanish film EL ORFANATO. He is the writer, with Graham Reznick of the forthcoming Sony Playstation videogame UNTIL DAWN. Fessenden was awarded the 2007 Sitges Film Festival Maria Award for his work as a producer, actor and director in genre film, and he won the 2009 Golden Hammer Award for “being such an inspiring force in the industry.” In 2011, Fessenden was inducted into the “Fangoria Hall of Fame” and was honored by the UK’s Total Film as an Icon of Horror during the Frightfest Film Festival.

Clay McCleod Chapman

Clay McLeod Chapman is the author of “rest area,” a collection of short stories, and “miss corpus,” a novel. “Miss corpus” was recognized in part of The New Yorker’s “Reading Glasses” series in 2003. Recently, he completed “The Tribe” trilogy, a middlegrade adventure novel series for Disney—"Homeroom Headhunters,” “Camp Cannibal” and “Academic Assassins.

About the Series: KGB Bar Sunday Night Fiction

The KGB Bar Sunday Night Fiction showcases the finest in contemporary fiction from new and emerging writers.

Suzanne Dottino/fiction curator,