KGB Poetry Presents The Why And Later anthology reading

October 13, 2008
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

With Jan Beatty, Laure-Anne Bosselaar, Teresa Carson, Harriet Levin, Amanda McGuire, Kiely Sweatt, and editor Carly Sachs.

Jan Beatty’s new book, Red Sugar, was published by the University of Pittsburgh Press in Spring, 2008. Other books include Boneshaker and Mad River, winner of the 1994 Agnes Lynch Starrett Prize. Ravenous, her limited edition chapbook, won the 1995 State Street Prize. Beatty has worked as a welfare caseworker and an abortion counselor. She worked in maximum-security prisons and was a waitress for fifteen years. Her poetry has appeared in Quarterly West, Gulf Coast, Indiana Review, and Court Green, and in anthologies published by Oxford University Press, University of Illinois Press, and University of Iowa Press. For the past fifteen years, she has hosted and produced Prosody, a public radio show on NPR-affiliate WYEP-FM featuring the work of national writers. Beatty directs the creative writing program at Carlow University, where she runs the Madwomen in the Attic writing workshops and teaches in the low-residency MFA program.

Laure-Anne Bosselaar is the author and of The Hour Between Dog and Wolf, and of Small Gods of Grief which won the Isabella Gardner Prize for Poetry for 2001. Her third poetry collection, A New Hunger, was selected as an ALA Notable Book in 2008.  She is the recipient of a Pushcart Prize, and her poems have appeared in reviews such as The Washington Post, Georgia Review, Ploughshares, AGNI, Harvard Review, and many others.  She is the editor of four anthologies: Night Out: Poems about Hotels, Motels, Restaurants and Bars, Outsiders: Poems about Rebels, Exiles and Renegades, Urban Nature: Poems about Wildlife in the Cities, and Never Before: Poems About First Experiences.  She translates American poetry into French and Flemish poetry into English. With her husband, poet Kurt Brown, she translated a selection of poems entitled The Plural of Happiness, by the Flemish poet, critic and essayist Herman de Coninck.

Teresa Carson grew up in Jersey City, New Jersey, as the youngest of ten in a blue-collar family. She earned an MFA in Poetry from Sarah Lawrence College. Her first book, Elegy for the Floater, was recently published by CavanKerry Press.

Harriet Levin’s first book of poetry, The Christmas Show, (Beacon Press) was chosen by Eavan Boland for a Barnard New Women Poet’s Prize.  It also won the Alice Fay di Castagnola Award from The Poetry Society of America, a Grolier Poetry Prize and was a PEW Fellowship discipline winner.  Her second manuscript, Girl in Cap and Gown, has been a finalist at numerous second book competitions including AWP, Tupelo, Carnegie Mellon, Ashland, and Crab Orchard. Recent work has appeared or is forthcoming in Ploughshares, Antioch Review, Iowa Review, Many Mountains Moving, Denver Quarterly, Gulf Coast, Cimarron Review and others.  She has been working on a an oral history project with her students at Drexel University and local “Lost Boys” of Sudan as part of One Book, One Philadelphia. These stories can be found on her blog:

Amanda McGuire’s poems have appeared in Noon: Journal of the Short Poem, The Cream City Review, 27 rue de fleures, So To Speak, and other literary journals.  Her chapbook Limited Rhapsody was a finalist for 2006 The Laurel Review/GreenTower Press Midwest Chapbook Series Award and the 2006 Center for Book Arts Chapbook Competition. Amanda lives in Bowling Green, Ohio.

Kiely Sweatt received her MFA in Poetry from the New School. Shortly thereafter, she fled the country to pursue a bohemian life in Spain, where she has been for the last four months practicing poems in Spanish and teaching English. 

Carly Sachs is the editor of the why and later, an anthology of poems that women have written about rape and sexual assault (deep cleveland press 2007). She is currently an Arts Fellow at The Drisha Institute in New York City. Recent work has appeared in Nextbook, The New Vilna Review, The Saint Ann’s Review, and Present Tense. She received her MFA from The New School and teaches at George Washington University. Her first book of poems, the steam sequence won the 2006 Washington Writers’ Publishing House book prize.

About the Series: KGB Poetry

Every Monday